Our Board of Directors

The Rev. John Felice (Chair), The Rev. John McVean
Fathers John Felice and John McVean are founders of St. Francis Friends of the Poor, which sponsors three supportive housing projects in Manhattan for the homeless mentally ill. They have provided steadfast assistance to Broadway Housing on programmatic issues as well as on building maintenance, construction, budgeting and operational matters.

Valerie Campbell, Esq (Secretary)
Ms. Campbell is Of Counsel with Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP specializing in land use, historic preservation and environmental review law. Prior to joining Kramer Levin, she served as counsel for New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission and Deputy Counsel of New York City Department of Parks and Recreation.

Ellen Baxter (Founder, Executive Director)
A mainstay of Broadway Housing’s history and current operations, Ellen Baxter is a pioneer in creating innovative, cost-effective, comprehensive programs to redress the problems of homelessness and poverty. Ms. Baxter participates on the boards of directors of several not-for-profit organizations with related missions: the Corporation for Supportive Housing, St. Francis Friends of the Poor and the New York Coalition for the Homeless.

Matthew Bloom
Mr. Bloom, a former Wall Street investment manager, transitioned to a career in not for profit administration in 2007. He is currently the Director of Finance and Administration at Saint Ann’s, a leading independent school in Brooklyn.

Carlton A. Brown
Mr. Brown is a founding partner and Chief Operating Officer of Full Spectrum. Prior to joining Full Spectrum, Mr. Brown worked for AT&T as a manager in their real estate division where he directed the development of over $2.0 billion of real estate.

Denise Elmer
Ms. Elmer is an experienced corporate and real estate attorney who spent 16 years as General Counsel of Chelsea GCA, an international developer of shopping malls and NYSE listed company.

Michael Hickey
Mr. Hickey is an independent consultant and expert community development executive with specialties in grant making, fundraising, project development, strategic planning, and program related investing. Mr. Hickey has over 15 years of experience building public/private partnerships in affordable housing.

Monsignor Thomas Leonard
Msgr. Leonard, the Vicar for the west side of Manhattan for the Catholic Archdiocese of New York, is a founding Board member of Broadway Housing and founder and Board member of the Incarnation Children’s Center in Washington Heights, which provides residential care to children with AIDS.

LeeSandra Moore-Abney
Ms. Moore-Abney has served as Dorothy Day Early Childhood Center’s Policy Council President and as a nutritional consultant for various Head Start programs. She has volunteered extensively at community organizations, local charter schools, and Head Start programs.

Carolyn Powell
Carolyn Powell is a leader in the supportive housing movement having served as Chief Financial & Administrative Officer for the Corporation for Supportive Housing, Inc., a national organization, from 2001 to 2009.

Saddie L. Smith
Ms. Smith is vice president of Facilities at Consolidated Edison Company of New York Inc.  In addition, she serves on the Boards of the College of New Rochelle and the New York City Mission Society Building Committee.

John J. Studzinski, CBE
Mr. Studzinski is a Senior Managing Director of the Blackstone Group and a member of its Executive Committee. Mr. Studzinski has a demonstrated commitment to social justice and serves as a Vice Chair of Human Rights Watch, a founding director of The Passage Day Centre serving homeless in London and a Director of the American Friends of the Foundation of Prince William and  Prince Harry. His personal foundation, The Genesis Foundation, founded in 2000, supports young and emerging artists.

Alan Weil, Esq
Alan Weil is a partner at the global law firm of Sidley Austin LLP and head of its New York Real Estate Practice. He has served as chair of the zoning commission in Rye, New York for over 10 years.

© 2015 Broadway Housing Communites, Inc.